The Designers Institute runs many initiatives throughout the year to celebrate the achievements of the design community. 

The Best Design Awards

The Best Design Awards are Australasia’s largest annual showcase of excellence across graphic interactive, motion design, product and spatial. Year on year, the event grows in both its size and its impact. The Value of Design Award (formerly Best Effect Award), Ngā Aho Award, Public Good Award and User Experience Award recognise the changing nature of our design industry. You can view all past winners on the Best Design Awards site.

We’ve had a very successful year, and a record breaking amount of entries. View all of the winners on the Best Awards site.

Winners for 2018 will be announced on Saturday 22nd September.

Entries for 2019 will open in April. 

Black Pin Recipients

Each year, the prestigious Black Pins are awarded to individuals for outstanding achievement within the design community.

The John Britten Black Pin is awarded to a designer for their leadership, vision and achievement both in New Zealand and internationally.

The Designers Institute Black Pin is awarded to a member of the Institute who has made a lasting and valuable contribution to the design profession and design culture in New Zealand.

Rik Campbell and Steve Le Marquand

The John Britten Black Pin celebrates an individual who has made a significant achievement in the field of design both nationally and internationally and demonstrated a combination of leadership, vision, creativity, skill, energy and discipline.

This year, in an unprecedented move, the Designers Institute is pleased to announce that the John Britten Black Pin is being awarded to an amazing duo: Rik Campbell and Steve le Marquand, the global managing director and Executive Creative director respectively of Resn. The Black Pin is going to the duo because they are inseparable – they’re a cohesive, united team with a very strong vision.

Resn is a creative digital agency with offices in New Zealand, Netherlands, and China. Founded in Wellington in 2004, Resn is internationally recognised as a world leader in digital development and design. It is known for its user-oriented and boundary-pushing projects for international brands like adidas, Subaru, Burger King and MailChimp. Always innovating, Resn has successfully launched into the physical space with Resn Labs China, adidas Speedfactory, and adidas Kick Creator. Resn has received numerous international accolades, including twice winning Awwwards Agency of the Year in 2017 & 2018, CSS Design Awards Agency of the Year, induction into the FWA Hall of Fame and inclusion on Advertising Age’s Production Company A-List. Resn’s work has won more than 250 international awards, including Cannes Lions, Webby Awards, One Show, D&ADs and Best Awards.

Steve Le Marquand is Resn’s co-founder and Executive Creative Director. Steve’s rabid need to infect the internet with strange and beautiful things has seen Resn grow from a small web design studio into a global creative agency. He is one of the most experienced Creative Directors working in digital today, with almost twenty years in digital and interactive design under his ever-loosening belt. He is a champion of simple, but highly-effective, digital interactivity that achieves an emotional response. While his work has yet to make a grown man cry, this fact alone has brought Steve to tears on several occasions.

Over the past 12 years Resn has won a string of highly sought-after awards, many of which were in no small part Steve’s fault. A much sought after industry expert, Steve has served as a speaker, judge, jury member and occasionally executioner for many international awards and conferences. In his spare time Steve enjoys creative interactive direction, interactive design, and directing creative interactive design companies.   

Rik Campbell is the Global Managing Director and co-parent of the love child known as Resn. He was the designer and art director for much of Resn’s early work, but the exhilaration of this highly creative role became too much and he accepted the promotion he gave himself to become Managing Director.

Since then, Resn has grown exponentially under Rik’s tyrannical rule. In defiance of all logic and some physics, the company has become a multi-headed, intercontinental conglomerate while retaining its founding principle to surprise, delight and bewilder. Rik is excited by the evolution of Resn and the future that lies ahead. Then again, he’s also excited by balloon animals and riding on escalators, so take that for what you will.

All Recipients

John Britten Black Pin Designers Institute Black Pin

Dan Bernasconi

Kent Sneddon


Danny Coster

Ben Corban


Kris Sowersby

Professor Tony Parker


Matt Holmes

Mark Cleverley


Kent Parker

Cathy Veninga

Grenville Main


Ian Athfield

Sven Baker


Mark Elmore

Fraser Gardyne


Dean Poole

Tim Hooson


Joseph Churchward

Dave Clark


Laurie Davidson

Professor Leong Yap


David Trubridge

Brian Richards


Gary Paykel

Grant Alexander


Mark Pennington

Hugh Mullane & Craig Horrocks


Richard Taylor

Michael Smythe


Peter Haythornthwaite FDINZ

Ray Labone


Ann Robinson

Doug Heath


Humphrey Ikin

Robin Beckett


Bruce Farr

David Bartlett


Karen Walker

John Hughes


Gifford Jackson

Not awarded


James Coe

Max Hailstone


John Britten

Purple Pin Case Studies

The Best Design Awards is the annual showcase of excellence in graphic, spatial, product and interactive design. The entries judged Best in each category are awarded the Gold Pin. The very best project in each discipline is awarded the supreme, Purple Pin for work that truly raises the bar for New Zealand design.

DINZ Student Council

Today’s design students are tomorrow’s industry professionals. That’s why the DINZ Student Council exists. Its twelve national representatives work to forge stronger links between the bright minds currently studying design and the industry peers, design leaders and potential mentors who will work with them in the future.

The Student Council run several initiatives including Interviews, Folio Nights and Best of the Best Students Speak. 

Learn more about the Council